The St. Martha Players, founded in 1968, is the oldest community theater group in the area that performs exclusively musical theater. The group performs a variety of shows each season, set in a unique, historic setting built in 1892.
The Opera House was constructed in 1892 by the Broad Brook Woolen Company. The front street level floor area was used as the sales room for the woolen company's cloth and the rear area as the shipping department. In 1920 these departments were relocated and Tyler's Ice Cream Parlor and News Stand and Sargent's Shoe Store occupied the first level. Some of the first level was also occupied by the US. Post Office until 1934.
The Ice Cream Parlor remained in existence until 1965 and closed because a lack of patronage and in 1973 the Fay Insurance Company located to that area.
The second floor of the building was kindly donated as a meeting place for many town activities. There were operettas, stage plays, graduation exercises, minstrels, military balls, dances, card parties, basketball games, town meetings, election voting, and meetings for civil defense during World War II.
In 2003, the St. Martha Players in Enfield (formed in 1968) were looking for a venue to continue presenting Broadway musicals to theater-loving audiences. Bill Stepansky met with owner Scott Fay, who felt the unoccupied second level was perfect for a theater. The name was changed to The Opera House Players.
In 2004, a church in NY was selling cushioned seats for $1.00 each.
A hard-working crew dismantled the seats and constructed our raised seating venue. We now rent the space and continue providing our audiences with top quality entertainment.